U.S. Department of Labor Releases Long-Awaited Overtime Rule Originally Published By: Troutman Sanders LLP on March 12, 2019 Last week, the United States Department of Labor (DOL) issued its long-awaited proposed change to the minimum salary threshold for the white-collar exemptions under the Fair Labor Standards Act. The new minimum salary threshold is $35,308/year (or $679/week). This new rule is not finalized nor in effect now. Rather, the new rule is open for a notice and comment period, with the DOL accepting public comments for 60 days after the rule is published in the Federal Register. The Department of Labor predicts that the new rule will likely become effective in January 2020.
Changes to the Law on Leave for Veterans By Michael C. Birch of HRW October 24, 2018 On August 28, 2018, Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker signed into law An Act Relative to Veterans Benefits, Rights, Appreciation, Validation and Enforcement (the “BRAVE Act”). The BRAVE Act goes into effect on November 7, 2018. Among other things, the law changes the requirements for employers to grant leave to veterans on Veterans Day and Memorial Day. THE OLD LAW The old law, which only went into effect in 2016, required employers to grant veterans time off on Veterans Day and Memorial Day to participate in an exercise, parade, or service in their community. The law also required employers with 50 or more employees to pay veterans for leave taken on Veterans Day.
In August 2017, an Act Further Regulating Employer Contributions to Health Care was signed into law, temporarily changing the existing employer medical assistance contribution and creating a temporary supplemental contribution, among other things. The final regulations implementing the law were just released by the Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance (DUA), and could financially impact your organization.
Learn about important changes to the EMAC law. These changes will go into effect beginning January 1, 2018.
You have received an EMAC Supplement Liability Determination, what happens now? Mass.gov has provided the below materials on how you can begin the appeal process.
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development Department of Unemployment Assistance has provided a list of frequently asked questions to help explain the new EMAC Supplement. Feel free to download the attachment below to read more, or view it at www.mass.gov.
Minimum wage Date                                Standard Minimum Wage              Tipped Minimum Wage January 1, 2019           $12.00                                                $4.35 January 1, 2020           $12.75                                                $4.95 January 1. 2021           $13.50                                                $5.55 January 1, 2022           $14.25                                                $6.15 January 1, 2023           $15.00                                                $6.75
If you have a successful business, you’ll likely have great reviews from customers in person and online. But how is your company’s reputation affected when you receive a bad review?
The Legislature has reached an agreement on a deal to raise the minimum wage to $15, institute paid family and medical leave and create a permanent sales tax holiday, in an attempt to keep multiple proposed ballot questions off the November 2018 ballot.
There are more jobs than people out of work, something the American economy has never experienced before.
Page 1 of 4